TextMirror

 Create a text mirror of any webpage in just a few seconds - for free! Enter the URL:

im9 Image Hosting   » Images up to 9 MB, hotlinking & +18 images allowed - all that and much more for free!

www-gamespot-com-mass-effect-3-previews-comic-con-2011-mass-effect-3-hands-on-preview-biotics-and-branching-upgrades--2012-03-05

Mirrored: 5th of March 2012, 18:52 Original: www.gamespot.com Views: 100 Settings: Loading the mirror...

GameSpot Search Search _____________________ Search Sign on Options * Log in >> sign in 1. Email _____________________ 2. Password _____________________ 3. 4. [ Login ] Forgot Password? Login with facebook Connect * Sign up Main Nav * Reviews * Latest Reviews * All Reviews * Video Reviews * Reviews Blog * Reviews on Metacritic * News * Top Stories * News Blog * Rumor Blog * Daily Updates * New Releases * Videos * All Videos * On The Spot * Start/Select * Appetite for Distraction * Now Playing * Tonight On the Spot * Video Reviews * Video Previews * Trailers * Gameplay * Interviews * Cheats * Popular Game Cheats * GameSpot Walkthroughs * Walkthroughs on GameFAQs * Culture * Culture Home * Sound Byte Radio * HotSpot Podcast * Site Blogs * Tradeshows & Events * Soapbox Platform Nav * Xbox 360 * Xbox 360 Home * Reviews * Previews * New Releases * Top Games * All Games * Videos * Cheats & Walkthroughs * Xbox Live * PC * PC Home * Reviews * Previews * New Releases * Top Games * All Games * Videos * Cheats & Walkthroughs * Downloads * PS3 * PS3 Home * Reviews * Previews * New Releases * Top Games * All Games * Videos * Cheats & Walkthroughs * PlayStation Network * Wii * Wii Home * Reviews * Previews * New Releases * Top Games * All Games * Videos * Cheats & Walkthroughs * Virtual Console * 3DS * 3DS Home * DS Home * Reviews * Previews * New Releases * Top Games * All Games * Videos * Cheats & Walkthroughs * PS Vita * PS Vita Home * PSP Home * Reviews * Previews * New Releases * Top Games * All Games * Videos * Cheats & Walkthroughs * iPhone * iPhone Home * Highest Rated * Most Popular * Appetite for Distraction * Reviews * iPhone App * Android * Android Home * Highest Rated * Most Popular * Appetite for Distraction Community Nav * Forums * GameSpot Forums * Forum Search * Community Blog * GameMarket * GameMarket Home * GameMarket Forum * About GameMarket * Fuse Theme: To Dark Comic-Con 2011: Mass Effect 3 Hands-On Preview - Biotics and Branching Upgrades Related Platforms: * PS3 * Xbox 360 * PC By Shaun McInnis, GameSpot, Posted Jul 22, 2011 8:13 pm GMT We take a quick look at one of the RPG elements missing from Mass Effect 2. * Facebook * Tweet * Here at Comic-Con 2011, EA is giving fans a chance to get some hands-on time with Mass Effect 3. While the demo is technically the same as what was shown behind closed doors at the Electronic Entertainment Expo last month, we took a second run through this heavily combat-oriented section of the game to see if we could spot anything new. Fortunately, it was a successful mission for both us and Commander Shepard. [IMG] The first thing we noticed that wasn't really covered at E3 was Mass Effect 3's reworked upgrade tree. The demo started us off with a choice of classes: soldier, sentinel, or adept. Being big fans of shooting people who are frozen upside down in midair, we decided to go the biotics route with the adept class. What greeted us next was the chance to spend some upgrade points on our squad's various skill trees. But unlike the linear skill progression of Mass Effect 2, there's some extra We should probably note that these aren't the most wildly splintered pathways, but they are nonetheless a different take on character progression than the previous game's offerings. In ME3, your skills start along a single path and then splinter into two branches where you can select only one upgrade or the other along a sequence of possibilities. So, for example, you might reach the point in upgrading your pull biotic--you know, the ability to suspend hapless enemies in midair--where you'll need to decide whether you want a longer duration or a wider field of attack. Choosing one cancels out the other, leading you to another set of options. According to BioWare, this feature has been worked into the game to add a bit more traditional role-playing customization--the loss of which many fans mourned after ME2. After upgrading our squad, it was on to the same demo from E3. Here, Shepard, Liara, and Garrus have dropped down onto the Salarian homeworld to free a female Krogan from quarantine in hopes of reversing the Krogan genophage. We won't go into the details of this mission all over again--you can read our E3 preview right here--but we did spy one interesting change in terms of enemy design. It appears BioWare is trying to encourage more squad teamwork with some of the new enemy types. The one that caught our attention the most was a Cerberus soldier sporting not only heavy armor, but also a mighty bullet-blocking riot shield. While there were plenty of ways to take this guy out, the quickest and most effective method involved drawing him into the air with pull--at which point his shield arm floated limply off to the side--and letting Garrus tear through him with armor-piercing fire. Voila. Heavy enemy down. [IMG] And that about does it for what we were able to glean from this second pass through the Mass Effect 3 E3 demo: a few more RPG qualities and a few more squad-based shooter qualities. You can expect to see more substantial preview coverage of Mass Effect 3 over the coming months leading up to the game's March 6 launch. 29 Comments * Refresh comments sign up or sign in to post a comment * First to Last * Latest prev next * 1 * 2 * eliebaz Posted Nov 1, 2011 2:50 pm GMT Never played ME1 or 2, never got the chance, always when it came out i had other games on my shopping list but i cannot miss this one, it looks like an incredible game graphics look lifelike, and i enjoy the concept of future based games. * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * Devchi Posted Oct 19, 2011 11:18 pm GMT Everything sounds pretty cool. Mixing the best aspects of ME with the best of ME2. But there's one thing that I wnat to know. ME3 event will occur only in Earth? Where's the rest of the Milky Way? What about the Citatel, Illium, Omega and stuff? Exploring the Earth should be thrilling, but not while ignoring everything else. * agree 1 * disagree 0 * = +1 * Sign in to rate this comment * CaineFH Posted Oct 16, 2011 3:32 am GMT I sure hope they make it NOTHING like ME2. ME2 was a mistake, and nothing like Me1. The end of lvl monster in ME2, was redicolious. Donky kong did not live in vain. * agree 1 * disagree 2 * = -1 * Sign in to rate this comment * terminator661 Posted Oct 13, 2011 5:06 am GMT ME3 looks like pure, sweet awesome * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * stormlord87 Posted Oct 12, 2011 9:16 am GMT It's a swing and a miss for 'role-playing elements'. Upgrade paths and weapon customisation do not make a role-playing game, dialogue does. It draws the player in to emotionally invest in the protagonist and those around him. An RPG also requires that the plot be influenced by the players decisions in a significant way. Seeing how so many people playing ME1 & 2 feel deeply about the characters that Shepard fights with is evidence enough that ME's got the role-playing it needs. * agree 1 * disagree 0 * = +1 * Sign in to rate this comment * Flamewolf75 Posted Oct 8, 2011 3:04 pm GMT @SuperSorasx maybe if you chose to give the collector base to the illusive man, the cerberus operatives will be using collector technology. * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * vadagar1 Posted Sep 16, 2011 8:10 pm GMT Skyrim, ME3, Diablo3, SC2 HoTS.... man my social life is so gonna die horribly * agree 1 * disagree 0 * = +1 * Sign in to rate this comment * kenthuss Posted Aug 3, 2011 4:58 am GMT THE BEST RPG OF 2012 * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * Blastalot5 Posted Aug 1, 2011 7:04 pm GMT cool * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * MessySlickJr Posted Jul 24, 2011 4:57 pm GMT I loved ME2, but hopefully they can add more RPG elements in ME3. * agree 7 * disagree 0 * = +7 * Sign in to rate this comment * cbb1018 Posted Jul 24, 2011 10:16 am GMT this game looks epic cant wait to see how it all ends * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * Sagacious_Tien Posted Jul 24, 2011 3:34 am GMT Im happy to see that some of the RPG has been put back into ME3. I can only hope that the game has been given sufficient time to be all it can be upon release. * agree 4 * disagree 0 * = +4 * Sign in to rate this comment * SuperSorasx Posted Jul 23, 2011 9:59 pm GMT @Scradin Your theory is pretty sound, but I'm almost certain that it's incorrect. During one of the demo videos I watched, Shepard mentions something about the Cerberus soldiers being indoctrinated. This can only mean one thing: the Reapers. If that's the case, then your ending of ME2, whether it was Renegade or Paragon, won't matter in ME3(In terms of Cerberus' alliance with Shepard). This way everyone will have the same enemy and the main story plot won't be different for the players. You can do some research if you'd like, but I'm thinking your best bet is that the Cerberus has been indoctrinated. * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * Scradin Posted Jul 23, 2011 8:35 am GMT @punkdsk8erdude My theory for the Illusive Man going after you, is he's, well, selfish. You're not only helping all of humanity, but every single living organism. And he isn't a very big fan of Aliens. Also, when you basically said "Screw you" at the end of the game, you destroyed the most valuable technology he may have ever gotten. So, he hates you. But, if you choose to be a renegade and do everything for him, I dunno. * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * vadagar1 Posted Jul 23, 2011 1:41 am GMT come on already * agree 3 * disagree 0 * = +3 * Sign in to rate this comment * punkdsk8erdude Posted Jul 22, 2011 10:28 pm GMT i cannot believe i waited till a month ago to play mass effect 2...WOW it was good! i can't wait for this to come out. But with the new "branching" skills trees, i wonder how skills will transfer if you use your previous mass effect character? In ME2, you had 1 of 2 choices for each skill when you reach the 4th level of it, and it seems like this new skill tree system builds off of that, which sounds great. I'm also very very curious about this mission about curing the genophage!!! In the past, it was always up to the player to make decisions about the genophage for example when doing Mordin's loyalty mission and deciding whether or not to save, destroy, or whatever else the options were with the cure at the end. I'm curious as to how this will all play out..maybe they are trying to cure it so the krogan can raise a massive army and help stop the reapers? I'm also curious as to why cerberus is FIGHTING you now!!! I know it's possible to piss off the illusive man depending on your final decision in ME2, but even if you do choose that way, why would they try to kill you after rebuilding you and knowing you're the best hope against the reapers? well, i guess ill have to play to find out! im stoked for this * agree 5 * disagree 1 * = +4 * Sign in to rate this comment * EA_LOVER Posted Jul 22, 2011 8:01 pm GMT cant wait it will be great * agree 0 * disagree 0 * = 0 * Sign in to rate this comment * Kazmo-Khan Posted Jul 22, 2011 6:16 pm GMT I'll admit, out of all the series of games that I've played, the Mass Effect series is the one that i like best. * agree 7 * disagree 0 * = +7 * Sign in to rate this comment * zync- Posted Jul 22, 2011 5:33 pm GMT ME3 will be So Epicness then the world will have to make a new system rating for this game. * agree 11 * disagree 1 * = +10 * Sign in to rate this comment * Ronnie_Rim Posted Jul 22, 2011 4:33 pm GMT If it has : The story, exploration, and epicness of Me1 + The gameplay and graphics of Me2 = win * agree 20 * disagree 0 * = +20 * Sign in to rate this comment * First to Last * Latest prev next * 1 * 2 Game Info * Xbox 360 PC PS3 Release Info * Release Date: Mar 6, 2012 * ESRB: M Titles rated M (Mature) have content that may be suitable for persons ages 17 and older. GameSpot on YouTube IFrame Related Unions * The RPG Temple * The Gamers Planet Hot Forum Topics * This will be my first time playing a Mass Effect gameX360 * I've put 12 hours into this game(NO SPOILERS)anyone have any last min questions?X360 * ANN - TwitterPC * So, I can't import my game...PC * more customization?PS3 * anyone know the length?PS3 * See All Mass Effect 3 Forum Topics >> Mass Effect 3 Mass Effect 3 Boxshot Follow: 1. Not Following Xbox 360: Follow 2. Not Following PC: Follow 3. Not Following PlayStation 3: Follow Add to List 1. Xbox 360 2. PC 3. PlayStation 3 Follow for the latest news, videos, & tips from experts & insiders GameSpot Fuse * Publisher(s): Electronic Arts * Developer(s): BioWare * Genre: Role-Playing * Release: Mar 6, 2012 (US) * ESRB: M Platforms: * X360 * PC * PS3 Mass Effect 3 Navigation * Summary > * Reviews > * News > * Previews & Features > * Previews > * Features > * Images > * Videos > * Answers > * Hints & Cheats > * Forum > * See All Forums > Games You May Like * BioShock: Infinite BioShock: Infinite * Metal Gear Rising Metal Gear Rising * Promoted TitleRisen 2: Dark Waters Risen 2: Dark Waters (X360) * Gears of War 3: RAAMs Shadow Gears of War 3: RAAMs Shadow * Ryse Ryse * Star Wars: KOTOR Star Wars: KOTOR Users who looked at content for this game also looked at these games. See More Similar Games GameSpot Search Search _____________________ Search RSS * Home * PC * Xbox 360 * Wii * PS3 * PS Vita * PSP * 3DS * DS * iPhone * Mobile * Forums * Videos * Cheats * New Releases * Downloads * News * Worldwide * About Us * Join GameSpot * Shop for Games * Help * Advertise on GameSpot * UK.GameSpot.com * GameFAQs.com * GameRankings.com * Metacritic.com * Top Stories: 1. Mass Effect 24 Hour Marathon Live Stream Mass Effect 24 Hour Marathon Live Stream 2. Assassin's Creed III Reveal Trailer Assassin's Creed III Reveal Trailer 3. Making Halo - Halo 4 First Look Making Halo - Halo 4 First Look * Top Games: 1. Mass Effect 3 (X360) 2. Journey (PS3) 3. Doom 4 (PC) 4. The Last Story (WII) 5. Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (X360) 6. Deep Black: Reloaded (PC) 7. Alan Wake (PC) 8. SSX (PS3) * Top Cheats: 1. Medieval II: Total War Cheats 2. Super Smash Bros. Melee Cheats 3. Temple Run Cheats 4. Mario Kart 7 Cheats 5. Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Cheats 6. GTA Liberty City Stories Cheats 7. Move the Box Cheats 8. GTA: Vice City Cheats * GameSpot On: 1. Twitter 2. Facebook 3. YouTube 4. Google+ 5. iPhone 6. Mobile Visit other CBS Interactive Sites [__________________] [ Go ] * BNET * CBS Cares * CBS College Sports * CBS Films * CBS Radio * CBS.com * CBSInteractive * CBSNews.com * CBSSports.com * CHOW * CNET * Find Articles * GameSpot * Help.com * Last.fm * MaxPreps * Metacritic.com * Moneywatch * MovieTome * MP3.com * mySimon * NCAA * Radio.com * Search.com * Shopper.com * Showtime * SmartPlanet * TechRepublic * The Insider * TV.com * UrbanBaby.com * ZDNet About CBS Interactive | Jobs | Advertise (c) 2012 CBS Interactive Inc. All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy (UPDATED) | Ad Choice | Terms of Use

Recent mirrors


im9 Image Hosting   » Images up to 9 MB, hotlinking & +18 images allowed - all that and much more for free!